Happy Birthday! To Two of “The Greatest” in Our January Sky

Posted on January 17, 2014 by

0



“The Greatest” Man of Fisticuffs
January 17, 1942 — Muhammad Ali born; M. Ali
boxer, human rights activist; was the first fighter to win the world heavyweight championship on three separate occasions, a title he defended 19 times; citing his religious beliefs, Ali refused induction into the U.S. Army during the war in Vietnam (April, 1967) and was stripped of his championship; Julian Bond later observed, “When a figure as heroic and beloved as Muhammad Ali stood up and said, ‘No, I won’t go,’ it reverberated through the whole society”; was chosen to light the Olympic flame at the start of the Olympic Games in Atlanta, Georgia (1996).

Notable Ali words:
“You lose nothing when fighting for a cause … In my mind the losers are those who don’t have a cause they care about.”

M. Ali & Malcolm X“Impossible is just a big word thrown around by small men who find it easier to live in the world they’ve been given than to explore the power they have to change it. Impossible is not a fact. It’s an opinion. Impossible is not a declaration. It’s a dare. Impossible is potential. Impossible is temporary. Impossible is nothing.”

“The man who views the world the same at fifty as he did at twenty has wasted thirty years of his life.”

“I am America. I am the part you won’t recognize. But get used to me. Black, confident, cocky; my name, not yours; my religion, not yours; my goals, my own; get used to me.”

“What you’re thinking is what you’re becoming.”

*

“The Greatest” First Lady of the United States
January 17, 1964 — Michelle Obama born; M. Obama
attorney, public administrator, executive; the first U.S. African American first lady, wife of Barack Obama, 44th president of the United States.

Notable quotes of Mrs. Obama:
“Do not bring people in your life who weigh you down. And trust your instincts … good relationships feel good. They feel right. They don’t hurt. They’re not painful. That’s not just with somebody you want to marry, but it’s with the friends that you choose. It’s with the people you surround yourselves with.”

“We should always have three friends in our lives: One who walks ahead who we look up to and follow; one who walks beside us, who is with us every step of our journey; and then, one who we reach back for and bring along after we’ve cleared the way.”

“I never cut class, I loved getting A’s, I liked being smart. I liked being on time. I thought being smart is cooler than anything in the world.”

“As a mom, I know it is my responsibility, and no one else’s, to raise my kids. But we have to ask ourselves, what does it mean, when so many parents are finding their best efforts undermined by an avalanche of advertisements aimed at our kids.”

M. Obama 2“We as parents are our children’s first and best role models, and this is particularly true when it comes to their health. …We can’t lie around on the couch eating French fries and candy bars and expect our kids to eat carrots and run around the block.”

“Cute (is) good. But cute only lasts for so long, and then it’s, ‘Who are you as a person?’ Don’t look at the bankbook or the title. Look at the heart. Look at the soul. When you’re dating a man, you should always feel good. … You shouldn’t be in a relationship with somebody who doesn’t make you completely happy and make you feel whole.”

