A Son’s Undying Love for Father; A Father’s Painful Love for Son!

Posted on January 11, 2013 by

0



It is said that a picture is worth a thousand words (and more). And these photos posted by Okera Ras, a Facebook friend of mine, are surely the kind of pictures that gave rise to that expression. Okera’s words (below) serve to amplify that vibration.

Okera Ras1 Okera Ras2

”January 7th (was) my father’s birthday. He would have been 92. He made his transition in 2010.
I miss him and I tear up sometimes when I think of him. He was a great example of manhood and fatherhood for me.
Compared to me he was able to do more in his life with less. He inspires me to step my game up.
I love you, Pop.”

I was truly moved by that posting: Those words are dear. But the photos . . . Awesome!!
It is said that a picture is worth a thousand words (and more). And these photos posted by Okera Ras are surely the kind of pictures that gave rise to that expression.
*
But there are rare occasions when the opposite can be true; when there can be no pictures to match compare to the feelings and emotions that come straight from an aching heart. Such is the case, my heart says, in the Jan. 14 Jet Magazine report on the agony being experienced by Ron Davis, father of Jordan Russell Davis, the 17-year-old youth who was killed in “stand-your-ground” Florida by a caucasoid creature who didn’t like his music.
*
The Jet report, by Denene Millner, includes these riveting lines: The day before he was killed, Jordan showed his maturity when he agreed to give the Thanksgiving meal prayer. In it, he vowed to talk to God more often. “It was almost like a good-bye prayer,” (Dad) Davis says. “I had never heard him speak that way.”

Jordan's dad, Ron Davis

Jordan’s dad, Ron Davis

* Now Davis can’t find rest. His miracle baby is gone. So searing is his anguish that Davis has resorted to sleeping with one of Jordan’s sweaters, which still contains a hint of his son’s cologne. “Every night is just so hard to sleep,” Davis shares. “But I keep that sweater with me and whenever it gets hard, I touch it and hold it close.”
*
Let our hearts be moved to do all we can, in every way we can, to bring an end to this suffering – as in the Davis family, Trayvon Martin’s family, and the thousands of families with similar agonizing experiences; from Florida to Chicago to California, and all points north, south, east and west. Let there be justice for the perpetrators.
*
But even more, let there be love between fathers and sons, and mothers and daughters; one and another, each and all. Let’s do all we can to see that more hearts are moved by experiences such as Brother Okera’s. Let’s do ALL we can!

Ankh, Udja, Seneb!!!
Bro. Mxolisi

PS: Here’s another great Father article that you might appreciate — https://hcvoice.wordpress.com/2011/06/18/a-great-ol-soldier-has-joined-the-ancestors/

